Thursday’s RAndom Thoughts: What Would Richard Do? November 05, 2015 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #824)

Have you ever felt like life was whirling around you and you’re just a passenger on the train? I know, I’m mixing my metaphors, but you get the idea. Between work, home/hubby, and blogging/writing, etc., my life is very full. And prioritizing which must do item has to come before the other must do item can be a challenge. And then bemusedly, I wonder “What Would Richard Do”. Here are some examples where my life and the exquisitely talented British actor Richard Armitage intersect–what we affectionately call, Richarding:

1) Paying bills–It would be so much easier if they were all on the same pay schedule, rather than spread out throughout the month. Then I could pay them all at once. Right? Of course that presumes that the paycheck arrives first. Like most people, we live paycheck to paycheck. But with the overtime I worked over the Summer, and no recent cash depleting emergencies lately (*spits three time*)–we got a loan for my hubby’s recent dental real-women-are-accountants_Nov0415redbubblecomadventures in multiple root canals–we actually have a little cushion. It’s not a big cushion (right) , just one with a small ruffle on it. But the cushion allows me to ponder paying bills as they come to me. So about every 2 weeks–since the bills are not on the same due date schedule–I go through my list of bills and pay them, online processes mostly–saving an electronic note in my meticulous bill topic folders. *rolls eyes* I know, I am far too organized.  Of course, we still have one outstanding medical bill–for an anesthesiologist that they foisted upon us as a separate charge (Grrrr) for a diagnostic test–but we’re almost caught up there.   Snap! I’m thinking that Harry Kennedy, the suave accountant lover in The Vicar of Dibley, would applaud my hubby and I having a little cushion–and my bills organization. See? Harry is reaching into his pocket to give me a prezzie. Of course, this is a different Armitage pocket than what has been giggled about recently.

vod-epi1-pix202RichardArmitage-asHarry-seekinghisKWTJun1012ranetcrpbrt

2) I am not a doormat, people! Sometimes, I think I need to reread some of the seminal–no not that kind, get your mind out of the pocket–2nd wave feminist writings about self empowerment. How does my polite and courteous attitude with others translate into someone thinking that they can bull doze over me and harass me because they’re having a bad day and I look like a good target to vent at? I’ve got two words for them:   post menopausal. Okay, that’s a phrase, but you know what I mean. I have reached an age where someone sneering that my 8.5 foot by 10 foot office is a closet is not okay–especially since she has never even seen it. Sure, my office is tiny compared to other people’s offices–I work at a non-profit public university. But it’s mine, it’s private, and it has a storage closet inside of it. Really, I think that the gal was in nicotine withdrawal since the restaurant we ate at was smoke free–as all are now. And in another instance, this time of a pampered prince, you want me to go out of my way for you the next time, fella? Then learn your manners and say please and thank you. Your fingernails on a chalkboard ungrateful entitlement whine is not becoming to you. Of course with the smoking reference in the first example, my mind goes to John Thornton in North & South. “Stevens!” (my cap, episode 1, below):

N&S-epi1-vlcsnap-2013-11-30-10h44m06s154_GratianaLovelaceCap-sizedBrt

3) Finally, I’m still ruminating about the next chapter of my “Thorin’s Journey: An Unexpected Love” story that I’m currently serializing. I want to conclude this story soon as a short story–maybe within 1 to 3 chapters. I’m trying to be under 50 pages total, if possible. Not the least of which is I have some holiday stories that I want to serialize. But that means that I have to tie up several of my Thorin fic subplots–and I’m still thinking about them. So rather than piffle something out for a Thorin fic chapter post, I’m hanging back and letting my Middle Earth muse rest for a bit. And I’ll try and put a new chapter out over the weekend when I will have more writing time, and when my eyes have had a rest. Double vision is dogging me more in the evenings since my eyes are so computer intensive during the day with registration, scheduling, budget, etc.  Weekdays just don’t afford me much writing time–with only two to three hours at night for writing before bedtime.

And my usual method for being stalled writing wise is to turn to another story of mine and work on it. And that is what I am doing. So I have two regency stories and one contemporary mystical story that I’m working on intermittently along with my current Thorin fic. Each of these alternative stories are at about 25 pages so far.  And I’ve even drafted a story cover logo for the contemporary mystical story. Ha! But then, I illustrate as I write to help me visualize my stories. Again, I have to return to WWRD–and not a Richard Armitage character for inspiration this time, but the man himself. He seems indefatigable–going from one project to the next with barely time to rest in between. The picture below is from April 2015 at the Toronto Airport as he was heading to Ireland to film “Pilgrimage” (image courtesy of Armitage Global). I need to get me some of those red power socks of RA’s. Ha!

2015--TorontoAirport--RichardArmitage1-headingtoIreland-andPilgrimage_Apr2015ArmitageGlobalFB-sized

What Would Richard Do? Keep going on to the next project–picking projects that are meaningful to him in some way. And that’s what I try to do, I write stories that I want to read. They might not all catch on fire with readers like my fic “N&S: John Thornton, Love Lessons” did–with over 76,400 reads on Wattpad alone, probably close to over 120K counting both platforms–but that’s okay. Some stories I write, find their audience later. And the fact that people are reading my stories and essays here on my blog and on my Wattpad site long after I initially serialized them is a sheer delight and quite humbling to me. Thanks so much, everyone! I really really appreciate it!

 

So what brought on my ruminations/reflections today? Actually, it was a post from the Me and Richard Armitage blogger Michaela Servetus (Thanks!) reflecting on several things, herself.   Below is her post link for you to follow, and my comment that I made to her about it.

https://meandrichard.wordpress.com/2015/11/04/day-three-of-blogging-without-thinking-about-it-too-much/

Grati’s Comment to Serv’s Post, 11/04/15

A good list of insights, there. We can only do what we can do–the rest is gravy, or chocolate, if you prefer (I do). And there will always be some people who want more, but give less.

And I think the best thing we can do for our students is to empower them–“teach them how to fish”. College was the time when I learned major life lessons of self reliance and independence in making choices. It has served me well.   And I try to impart that “you can do it” attitude to my students. And I encourage them to never stop trying for a goal that they want.

It’s not a mind set of “failure is not an option” that some students think/know that their parents have told them–where success is the only acceptable outcome.   It is “You failed? So what have you learned from it? What would you do differently, what would you do the same?” And they have to learn to redefine success and to redefine failure for their own lives–and not impose others’ viewpoints on themselves.

Sorry, I’m the wordy gal.

P.S. And I have to ask, is this the “original” Pesky? Or is this a new age Pesky that inherited the mantle?

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in "N&S: John Thornton Love Lessons", "Pilgrimage" film, "Thorin's Journey: An Unexpected Love", Creative Writing, Drama, Fan Fiction, Fangurling, Harry Kennedy, Humor, John Thornton, Middle Earth, movies, Musings, My Life, North & South, Period Drama, Positivity, Power, Reflections, Richard Armitage, Something About Love, Thorin, Vicar of Dibley, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Thursday’s RAndom Thoughts: What Would Richard Do? November 05, 2015 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #824)

  1. November 05, 2015–Thanks for liking this post! I’m glad that you enjoyed it!

    obscura, Esther, & jholland

    Like

  2. Esther says:

    The man and his work are so closely woven into our daily lives! I often relate daily events to Richard as well, it’s become a bit of a habit over the years…
    So, you wrote a N&S fic? I did one too, way back in 2006 when I first fell in love with N&S and RA. I read many N&S fics at the time but haven’t really read much fanfiction of late. Time constraints and all that. But your N&S fanfic has me very curious, so I may mosey over to your wattpad one of these days to read it… :)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Esther,
      Thanks for your nice note! At least for my social media friends and platforms, Richarding is a happily entwined past time of mine. Ha! But I do manage to go hours without thinking about him. I know, sacrilege!
      That’s neat that you have an N&S fan fic that you have written as well. Are you also on wattpad, or would your story be accessible elsewhere? Wattpad is nice because the chapters are contiguous. Whereas on my blog, there are essays–like this one–interspersed between the chapters.
      I actually have two novel length N&S fan fic–the one I mentioned in my post, and then my first story that I wrote in the year after my first seeing N&S for the first time in 2010, “N&S: Nurturing Love”. But I didn’t begin serializing it here on my blog (only) until 2012.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

      • Esther says:

        Well, I don’t constantly think of him either but he does pop up regularly, sometimes fleetingly, in my mind during the day. :)
        My fanfic was first hosted on an N&S fanfic site that was then taken down and afterwards i put it on the C19 message board, under a pseudonym. I need to put in more enters to make the text more readable and basically go through the text again before I dare put it up elsewhere. I have a login on Wattpad for occasionally reading things (which I rarely get around to, however) but I haven’t published anything on there myself. Maybe I will one day…
        I will try to check out your N&S fics some time.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Kitty says:

    Mama use to have a sampler hanging on her kitchen wall that said, “Man works from sun to sun. Woman’s work is never done.”
    A friend advised me last night that I should take time for myself; carve out time one day a week just for Kitty. I’ve spent my adult life (from the age of 24) caring for others – my children, my parents, my in-laws, and, now, my grandchildren. I don’t know if I could ever focus on myself. My relaxation comes when my prince works 12-hour night shift and I’m alone in the evenings; but even then, I’m doing laundry, working in the sewing room, housework, paperwork.
    Mama’s sampler was right.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Kitty,
      Thanks for your note and for sharing! I need to get me one of those samplers! Its thoughts are so true. I think it was last Saturday that I tended to my man, did three loads of laundry, a load of dishes, paid bills, and made dinner. So much for a “weekend”. Ha! But at least we have the modern conveniences.

      But your friend is right, we have to carve out time for ourselves and what gives us joy or causes us to smile. And for me, Richard Armitage watching, listening, writing, reading, chatting, etc., is definitely a joy filled activity. And that is enhanced by my RA Friends like you and the ladies above and others–Esther, jholland, obscura, etc.–who I have met along the way.

      Hugs & Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  4. November 5, 2015–Fellow blogger and frequent visitor/commenter here jholland shares some of her own reflections about a recent “situation” in her life and some of her Richarding gif examples at her blog “Preoccupied with Armitage”:

    https://preoccupiedwitharmitage.wordpress.com/2015/11/05/well-thats-just-crap-tastic-public-service-announcement/

    Like

  5. Servetus says:

    Thanks for the link love.
    I think that I occupy an interesting space in my department, having been a former professor in it — so adults have a lot of respect for me. Students are another story. But yeah, honestly, I’m not sure where basic politeness has gone (do I sound like an old curmudgeon or what?) It can be very hard to keep your cool and I’ve started to understand the rigid stare of the bureaucrat. Because I’m thinking, “what? you insulted me and you *want* something from me?”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Servetus,
      You’re most welcome! Thanks again to you! Happily, I find that there are enough courteous people around that it mitigates the not so courteous people. But only just sometimes. Ha! And I love your last sentence!
      Hugs & Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

