Sexy Saturday:  Richard Armitage and the Samson Advantage,  March 19, 2016 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #888)

Growing up, I used to love watching the historical biblical epics that old Hollywood churned out.  “The Ten Commandments”—which is shown every year on Palm Sunday (tomorrow)—starring Charlton Heston as Moses (below) was a classic.

Charlton_Heston-asMoses_in_The_Ten_Commandments_film_trailer_Mar1816viaWiki-brt

Charlton’s Moses was fashioned to be more of a “deliverer” than a devastator.  But his long bewigged locks though full, still didn’t sit comfortably upon his head in my view.

 

But I was also drawn to a darker and even more muscular actor in these types of films whose longer and curly hair evoked the period, but also his strength.  Of course, I am referring to the actor Victor Mature—in particular for his role as Samson in the movie “Samson and Delilah” (below, with Hedy Lamarr starring as Delilah).  The tale itself—of god bestowed gifts of strength compromised by the betrayal of the woman (Hedy Lamarr as Delilah) he loved and her spitefulness—is a classic unrequited love story.  And the hair here was more subtlely incorporated into the actor’s own hair—lending it a greater feel of realness, and therefore greater authenticity.

SamsonDelilahBottom-movie-still_Mar1816iwantmytwodollarscom

And does that betrayal by a woman love interest ring any Twelfth Century bells?  Perhaps, a dashing knight with pretensions toward power, wealth, prestige to win the affections of the lady he loves comes to mind?  Well if the talented British actor Richard Armitage’s portrayal of Sir Guy of Gisborne’s magnificent manly specimen in body and longish hair (below) were not enough to convince the obtuse Lady Marian portrayed by Lucy Griffiths) of Sir Guy’s worthiness, then that girl doesn’t deserve him.

 

 

And to prove that point, after the writer’s had Sir Guy kill off Lady Marian in Season 2, because I am convinced that they felt killing off a woman character and giving her love interest Sir Guy fodder for greater angst was more tantalizing than merely allowing Lady Marian to find a better marriage match with a man who might value her as more than as a possession than either Sir Guy or Robin Hood were capable of doing.   And Sir Guy pitiably moped around tormentedly for his great sin of killing that which he lovedNotice the long straggly haired Sir Guy below, framing a face infused with such remorsefulness, “My Life is hell! He tells Robin, begging his enemy to kill him). And Sir Guy’s scraggly dirty hair here just begs to be washed by loving hands who will give him a soothing scalp massage as well.

RH3epi1_223--Guy-My-life-is-hell--isRichardArmitage_Mar1816ranet-clr

Yet  later in Season three, Sir Guy came back revitalized as a glorious creation of manly prowess and bearing, oozing confidence (below)—with now effortlessly styled hair and accentuating leather shoulder pads on his already impressive shoulders that gave him even more charismatic appeal.  Though not blessed by the gods, Sir Guy had the Regent of the realm’s patronage—which in the Middle Ages was quite something– to do the sovereign’s bidding, with the promise for great rewards, that of punishing his enemy Sherrif Vasey whom Sir Guy believed was truly responsible for the events that lead to Lady Marian’s death.  And once again, though a part of the whole of Sir Guy’s visual costuming, his longish hair was coiffed to perfection.  And the era of Richard Armitage hair extensions for a role was born!

RH3epi5_086--SirGuy-oozing-confidence_Mar1816ranet-crop-brt

 

And only in the still yet to be seen in the U.S. role of Richard Armitage portraying disaffected social worker Chop in “Urban and the Shed Crew” (2015),  does a Richard Armitage character have the best stylist’s blow out (below).

Chop-withStyledHair-inUrban-and-the-Shed-Crew-isRichardArmitage_Mar1816ranet-viaCandidaBrady-twitter-28Aug15-crop-brt

And yet for all of Charlton Heston’s bewigged mop of hair, Victor Mature’s curly haired broad shouldered he man hunkiness—and for Sir Guy’s layered locks paired with tautly rendered abdominals appeal, or even Chop’s anguished blowout—“there is one whom I could follow, one whom I could call king.”

 

For in Richard Armitage’s award winning portrayal of JRR Tolkien’s tragic yet triumphant Middle Earth Dwarven King Thorin Oakenshield in The Hobbit trilogy of films, that we find the harmonious blending of masculine muscularity, dignity and bearing, and oh such a wonderful mane of hair!  Below are just a sampling of those luscious Thorin locks courtesy of RANet from a collage I had created for an earlier post!

gratiana-birthday-thorin-portrait-choices-nov1412gratianalovelacerev2

 

With hair this long and wavy and thick, and majestic hair and physicality, Richard Armitage as King Thorin Oakenshield (below courtesy of Fortescue tumblr) wins the hair wars and hunk wars for me.  Samson who?  *THUD*

Thorin-contemplative_Aug2714Fortesque-tumblr_na39mfqiaw1ql524yo1_500

I hope you have a lovely weekend!

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Chop in Urban and the Shed Crew, Love and Relationships, Middle Ages, Multi-Character RA, Portraits, Richard Armitage, Robin Hood, Sexy SatuRdAy, Society, Something About Love, Thorin and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sexy Saturday:  Richard Armitage and the Samson Advantage,  March 19, 2016 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #888)

  1. March 19, 2016–Thanks for liking this post! I’m glad that you enjoyed it! Cheers!

    coleen561, Hariclea, Guylty Pleasure, Carolyn, & jholland

    Like

  2. Guylty says:

    I think it was the Merovingians who believed that divine power manifested itself in their long, flowing locks. Hence, when the last Merovingian ruler was ousted by the first Carolingian (?), they shaved his hair off, symbolic of having lost the god-given right to rule… I always think of that when I see Thorin’s majestic mane of hair, and I wonder whether Peter Jackson or Philippa Boyens were aware of the early medieval view of long hair…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Guylty,

      Thanks for your nice note and historical suggestion! I find it particularly amusing that the Merovingians (begining in the 400’s CE) were called the “long haired kings” (see Wiki l;ink below) when the Dwarves of Erebor in the House of Durin were referred to as the “long beards”. Hair length on head or chin being prized by these rulers, respectively, as male vanity is amusing. Ha! Loved finding this out! Thanks for sharing!

      For more about the Merovingians that Guylty mentions, here is a link I found when I googled it:
      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Merovingian_dynasty

      And though Samson’s story is purported to have its “origins” in 12th century BCE by archaeologists in 2012 uncovered a seal illustrating a man fighting a lion–as Samson did in the bible story–as with so many biblical stories, we can find earlier ancient stories that predate the bible. Gilgamesh anyone? Ha! So there is not necessarily a direct link to the Samson of the bible that far back. Here is that Samson info link again (which also appears above in my post):
      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Samson

      Thanks and Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

      • Guylty says:

        It’s interesting, isn’t it? I am not sure how the dwarves are described by Tolkien (apart from the long beards), or whether Thorin has a long mane in the literary source. Tolkien was most probably aware of the Merovingians, not sure if Jackson is *grins*. But it fits the whole story so well, especially since all of the Durin’s have long locks.
        Thanks for all the links, too. I had been to lazy to check when I commented ;-)

        Liked by 1 person

  3. March 19, 2016–Laura Day (Thanks!) shared a poignantly sad long haired Sir Guy portrait today:

    Like

  4. I wish I had hair so thick and curly, not these feathers of mine, even if it’s a wig. :)
    p.s. dwarrovs had long hair (though there is no specific length) and never got bald. And they only started rapidly aging about 10 years before their deaths. ;)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Andrea,
      Thanks for your nice note! My hair is rather fine, too! Though, I have a lot of it. Ha!

      And I learn something new every day from my blog visitors. Thanks for sharing the proper plural for Dwarf is Dwarrows or Dwerrows. Below is the link I found for it after looking your word up (Though I love that Tolkien stubbornly insisted on using Dwarves “as a piece of private bad grammar”, Ha!:
      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dwarf_(Middle-earth)

      Most of those Dwarves were indeed quite hirsute. Though with Dwalin having a bald head with a tattoo on it (link below), perhaps he intentionally shaved to show off the tattoo–and to look more fierce. Also, all that hair had to be hot!
      http://vignette2.wikia.nocookie.net/lotr/images/1/1c/Dwalin.jpg/revision/latest?cb=20120911200601

      And would that we all could be ageless, but for the last ten years of life!

      Thanks for visiting and commenting! Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

      • You are welcome, Grati ;) I absolutely adore everything Middle-earth, so you have Tolkien geek following your blog :D (btw, if I had not mention it before, I am the president of Croatian Tolkien Fan Society ”The Fellowship of Almaren” – or ”Almarenska družina” in Croatian. You can find us on facebook under this name or go via my profile if you are bored sometimes :P ).

        As for Dwalin, he had hair in the book, but for the movies they went with Graham’s ‘natural look’ and let him go bald – it was perfect way for Peter’s vision for all dwarrows (i love this word) to be distinguishable.

        Have a great day,
        *hug* :D

        Liked by 1 person

        • Hi Andrea, Ah! Thanks for mentioning your Tolkien world interest and affiliation! I will have to look you up after work today. I came to Tolkien through the LoTR’s films and then via Richard Armitage for the TH films. Cheers! Grati ;->

          Like

  5. Irish Witch says:

    I love this blog and have only one word for it: Bravissimo!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Irish Witch,
      Thanks for your very kind praise for my blog! I really appreciate it! And I’m glad that you enjoy it. I just write what I like. And though I’m trying to keep my blog essays to one page for quicker reading by my visitors, my essay here went to two pages. I kept thinking of things to add to it. Ha!
      Thanks and Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

