Happy Easter Selfie from Richard Armitage via Twitter,  March 27, 2016 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #891)

So what do we think the talented British actor Richard Armitage now filming EPIX produced “Berlin Station” in Berlin, Germany is singing so seriously and with gusto?  Ha!  Since he has previously said that he liked a Steven Tyler of Arrowsmith song–yeah that one, “Love in an elevator”—perhaps Richard Armitage is channeling the rock star. Note the open shirt with much neckage showing.  Ha!  Rock on, fella!

And then I wondered, if at the end of the night–at the end of each of our nights in recent days with news of tragedies in Brussels and around the world–if what he and what we might choose to close our singing would be more poignant, with a fervent hope for a better world, a safer world, a peaceful world where children grow up and live to see their children’s children grow up and have their own children.

A world of peace exists in our hearts, if not in some of our current realities, “somewhere over the rainbow”:

“Israel Kamakawiwo’ole – Somewhere Over the Rainbow (with lyrics)” by MrJustLyrics

 

Below are the lyrics (from Google Play) for the version of “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” sung by Israel Kamakawiwo’ole:

“Over the Rainbow”  sung by Israel Kamakawiwoʻole

“Somewhere over the rainbow
Way up high
And the dreams that you dreamed of
Once in a lullaby

Somewhere over the rainbow
Blue birds fly
And the dreams that you dreamed of
Dreams really do come true ooh oh

Someday I’ll wish upon a star
Wake up where the clouds are far behind me
Where trouble melts like lemon drops
High above the chimney top
That’s where you’ll find me

Oh, somewhere over the rainbow bluebirds fly
And the dream that you dare to,
Oh why, oh why can’t I?

Well I see trees of green and red roses too,
I’ll watch them bloom for me and you
And I think to myself
What a wonderful world

Well I see skies of blue
And I see clouds of white
And the brightness of day
I like the dark
And I think to myself
What a wonderful world

The colors of the rainbow so pretty in the sky
Are also on the faces of people passing by
I see friends shaking hands
Singing, “How do you do?”
They’re really singing, “I, I love you.”

I hear babies cry and I watch them grow,
They’ll learn much more than we’ll know
And I think to myself
What a wonderful world world

Someday I’ll wish upon a star
Wake up where the clouds are far behind me
Where trouble melts like lemon drops
High above the chimney top
That’s where you’ll find me

Oh, somewhere over the rainbow way up high
And the dream that you dare to, why oh, why can’t I?”

So on this Easter Sunday of rebirth and renewal–and of hope for a better tomorrow–I wish you and yours a very Happy Easter!  Hugs & Love!  Grati

 

 

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Goodwill, Hope, Music, Peace, Richard Armitage, Social Justice, Society, Something About Love, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Happy Easter Selfie from Richard Armitage via Twitter,  March 27, 2016 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #891)

  1. Wendy says:

    Well said Grati and I like your sentiments. Praying for a resolution to world conflicts . Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Wendy,
      Thanks for your very kind note! We all live together on this “island” home that we call Earth. And as the bible says, there are many rooms in our home (John 14:2). And with that, one supposes the rooms are comprised of many varieties of decorations/cultures/nationalities/beliefs, etc.. We have to learn to live together and respect each others’ beliefs. To live and let live. That is my prayer for all of us.
      Happy Easter, Hugs & Love! Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  2. March 27, 2016–Thanks for liking this post! Happy Easter! Cheers! Grati ;->

    Carolyn

    Like

  3. Happy Easter to you, too Grati! :*

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Irish Witch says:

    It is Easter Monday and I hope those who celebrated had a beautiful holiday. I have always loved that song but it has always left me sad, because I feel that it is simply beautiful in its childlike belief, however, something that is so unattainable in this world of ours which causes my sadness. May hope spring eternal.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Irish Witch, Thanks for your note. And I believe that there are many more good people than bad people in our world.

      NPR had an interview the other day with a Palestinian father who had thrown rocks at occupying forces as a child and had been imprisoned for it. But as he grew older and had a son and a daughter, he wanted a different world for them, a peaceful world. And he said that even when his 10 year old daughter was killed on her way to school by a stray bullet, that he could not seek revenge. Revenge would accomplish nothing. So he works with a group of Palestinians and Jews to create greater understanding–in the hope that other parents and families do not experience the crushing loss that theirs did. His response is goodness personified. And if he can turn himself around to be good and promote peace, others can, too. Here is the link to the story:
      http://www.npr.org/sections/parallels/2016/03/22/467689134/a-palestinian-takes-a-different-road-in-his-fight
      Hugs & Love! Grati ;->

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

