Stirring my senses and calming my soul, February 21, 2017  Gratiana Lovelace (Post #1046)

I am drawn to the color blue—as I mentioned in a previous post.  Mostly a dark indigo blue, but also lighter blues and in blues combination feel soothing to me.

And the other day, I ran across a beautiful Van Gogh painting shared on twitter by History of Art (Thanks!) called Starry Night over the Rhone (1888) that really moved me with its interplay of blues and yellows simulating a brightly twinkling night sky.
vangogh-starry-night-over-therhone-1888-c4-ujb7wcai6mre_feb1917musay-dorsay_viahistoryofartShared by HISTORY OF ART‏@AHistoryOfArt

“Vincent Willem Van Gogh (Dutch: 30 March 1853 –29 July 1890) Starry Night over the Rhone, September 1888. Musée d’Orsay, Paris.”

Initially, I was so captivated by the representation of the yellow gold twinkling stars and city lights reflected in the blue water, that it was only belatedly–as I wrote this post–that I also noticed the strolling couple in the lower right hand corner, as well as the small boats just above and to the left of them.  It looks like a lovely night, clear and calm, with a light cool breeze.  Soothing.

So as I do a countdown of sorts to my upcoming leg tendon repair surgery—which, as you might imagine, has me a bit unsettled—I am seeking calming and soothing atmospheres.  Sight and sound.

Music often soothes me, too.  And though I love the Josh Groban version of the Don McLean song Starry Starry Night with Groban’s rich baritone, the lyrics toward the end can be a bit of a downer.  Ha!  And I actually have a small gilt framed print of the Van Gogh 1889 painting The Starry Night (below):

450px-van_gogh_-_starry_night_1889-_google_art_project_feb2017viawiki

So instead, I chose to include a more uplifting ballad sung by Josh Groban, You Raise Me Up:

My other senses also engage in soothing and comfort with fruity or chocolate tastes, light flowery scents, and softness like our beagle’s fur as she lies beside me and sleeps.

So if you’re like me, and want a little calming and soothing, then surround yourself with a comfort zone of sight, sound, taste, touch, and scents, then rest and relax.   Peace, love, & hugs!  Grati  ;->

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Gratiana Lovelace, Health, Music, My Life, Peace, Something About Love, Video and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stirring my senses and calming my soul, February 21, 2017  Gratiana Lovelace (Post #1046)

  1. February 21 & 24, 2017–Thanks for liking/starring this post! I’m glad that you enjoyed it! Cheers! Grati ;->

    Carolyn, Discovermarche, ania- zrysiowana ja, Hariclea, & Esther

    Like

  2. Esther says:

    Sending you positive thoughts for your surgery!

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Reply

