Why?  Tears in Syria,   April 6, 2017  Gratiana Lovelace (Post #1054)

I have no eloquent words to express my heartbreak about the deaths of Syrian children and families from a vicious and unconscionable Sarin gas chemical attack Tuesday morning that killed dozens of people just trying to live their lives–just like you and I.

Those left behind and the people murdered had hopes and dreams—wishing for peace someday, hoping to find love and acceptance, and wanting a better life for their beautiful children.


“Aya (left) and Ahmad Youssef at their home in Idlib before they died in a Sarin gas attack CREDIT: ALAA AL-YOUSSEF” (TELEGRAPH.CO.UK)

But now, the murdered innocents will never have their dreams fulfilled, they will never have their voices heard, and they will never have the chance to become something more than themselves as part of a community, as part of a society.

What the world has lost, we will never know—a brilliant mind who could have found a cure for cancer or aids, a voice who could have been heard to champion and broker peace or eliminate hate, a future parent who would have sung a lullaby as their own much loved child drifted off to peaceful sleep.

And the only thing that I can think of right now, as I write this–about the Syrian attacks and other senseless violence that barrages us daily–with tears streaming down my face is, why?  Why?  WHY?

 

And when my heart turns to grief and loss, I think of Eric Clapton’s song “Tears in Heaven”–written for the memory of his toddler son Conor who died tragically.

So I share Mr. Clapton’s song “Tears in Heaven” in the video below—in comfort for Mr. Abdulhamid al-Youssef, a father who has lost his family, has lost everything–and for all those left behind like Mr. al-Youssef, who struggle with continuing their lives after tragedy.

 

And the lyrics to the song “Tears in Heaven” appear below (courtesy of azlyrics.com):

“Tears In Heaven”, by Eric Clapton and Will Jennings, 1991

“Would you know my name
If I saw you in heaven?
Would it be the same
If I saw you in heaven?

 

I must be strong
And carry on
‘Cause I know I don’t belong
Here in heaven

 

Would you hold my hand
If I saw you in heaven?
Would you help me stand
If I saw you in heaven?

 

I’ll find my way
Through night and day
‘Cause I know I just can’t stay
Here in heaven

 

Time can bring you down
Time can bend your knees
Time can break your heart
Have you begging please, begging please

 

Beyond the door
There’s peace I’m sure
And I know there’ll be no more
Tears in heaven

 

Would you know my name
If I saw you in heaven?
Would you be the same
If I saw you in heaven?

 

I must be strong
And carry on
Cause I know I don’t belong
Here in heaven”

 

And now, for the love in our world that exists in all peoples of many nations and myriad faiths who care about and mourn these children’s and families deaths in these recent attacks on Syria and Syrian victims elsewhere, our tears are for Syria.

 

P.S.  And at times, I find myself wanting to do something substantive to help those suffering under such desperate circumstances.  So as I do often, I have made another modest donation to USA for UNHCR—the United Nations Refugee Relief organization.   And if you feel so inclined, the UNHCR hyperlink is there for you.

Or if you have another relief/aid organization that you would recommend to those who wish to help, please share its link in a comment below.

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Charities, Children at Risk, Compassion, Donations, Family, Grief, In Memoriam, Love, Music, Refugees, Social Justice, Society, Something About Love, Video, World events and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why?  Tears in Syria,   April 6, 2017  Gratiana Lovelace (Post #1054)

  1. April 06 & 07, 2017–Thank you for liking post #1054. I appreciate your response. Hugs! Grati

    discovermarche & Esther

    Like

  2. Andrea Númellóte says:

    This is…just don’t have the words for it anymore. One feels so helpless watching news reports; it breaks my heart. :(

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Reply

