“Hidden Figures–Don’t be delicate. Be vast and brilliant.”  April 22, 2017 Gratiana Lovelace (Post#1058)

Last weekend when Liesbeth Lap shared this Shinedown music lyric quote and a beautiful dancing lady illustration (see below) on Twitter, the image and quote moved me.


On one level, I like the sentiment about women being strong and independent.  We live in an age when women have more freedoms than my mother or grandmother had—though they were both women of uncompromising spirits.

And yet, we live in times that also challenge us/women at every turn—
with the beautiful people issues of magazines, when beauty is a cultural and generational (a 1520 beauty at right, Venus by Titian who would be considered “plus sized” in modern times) construct that is ever changing, or reminders to women of the “gender pay gap” compared to men’s salaries, etc.  It sometimes seems like one step forward, two steps back.

 

And then we have wonderful inspiring examples of women empowering themselves and each other—even to the moon and back, in the 2016 film “Hidden Figures” (see Wiki excerpt below):

“Hidden Figures is a 2016 American biographical drama film directed by Theodore Melfi and written by Melfi and Allison Schroeder, based on the non-fiction book of the same name by Margot Lee Shetterly about African American female mathematicians who worked at the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) during the Space Race. The film stars Taraji P. Henson as Katherine Johnson, a mathematician who calculated flight trajectories for Project Mercury and other missions. The film also features Octavia Spencer as Dorothy Vaughan and Janelle Monáe as Mary Jackson, with Kevin CostnerKirsten DunstJim ParsonsGlen Powell and Mahershala Ali in supporting roles.”

Hidden Figures | Teaser Trailer [HD] | 20th Century FOX

These ladies of NASA weren’t delicate.  They were being vast and brilliant!   And their examples shine in my heart–and make me want to dance like the lady in the illustration above.  Will you join me?

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in African American, Beauty, Drama, Empowerment, Gratiana Lovelace, HERStory, Hidden Figures film, History, Hope, Inspiration, Love and Relationships, movies, Observations about life, Period Drama, Positivity, Quotes, Role Model, Social Justice, Society, Something About Love, Video, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Hidden Figures–Don’t be delicate. Be vast and brilliant.”  April 22, 2017 Gratiana Lovelace (Post#1058)

  1. valsgal1999 says:

    I watched the movie Hidden Figures last week and thoroughly enjoyed it. I told my mom she needed to watch it.
    Today at work my new manager was telling me about a former co-worker of hers that would sing “Delta Dawn” and only the Helen Reddy version would do. It brought me back to my childhood where my mom would play the Helen Reddy album over and over at night while I was supposed to be sleeping. Talking about this song brought me to Helen Reddy’s “I Am Woman” song. For the time it was a very groundbreaking/empowering song that I didn’t fully grasp because of my young age. And tonight your blog posting has made the day come full circle. I still remember the words from The Help… You is kind, You is smart, You is important.

    My teenage son often asks me why I am so smart. It’s wisdom born of pain…

    “I Am Woman”

    I am woman, hear me roar
    In numbers too big to ignore
    And I know too much to go back and pretend
    ‘Cause I’ve heard it all before
    And I’ve been down there on the floor
    No one’s ever going to keep me down again

    Whoa, yes, I am wise
    But it’s wisdom born of pain
    Yes, I’ve paid the price
    But look how much I gained

    If I have to I can do anything
    I am strong (strong)
    I am invincible (invincible)
    I am woman

    You can bend but never break me
    ‘Cause it only serves to make me
    More determined to achieve my final goal
    And I’ll come back even stronger
    Not a novice any longer
    ‘Cause you’ve deepened the conviction in my soul

    Whoa, yes, I am wise
    But it’s wisdom born of pain
    Yes, I’ve paid the price
    But look how much I gained

    If I have to I can do anything
    I am strong (strong)
    I am invincible (invincible)
    I am woman

    I am woman, watch me grow
    See me standing toe-to-toe
    As I spread my loving arms across the land
    But I’m still an embryo
    With a long, long way to go
    Until I make my brother understand

    Whoa, yes, I am wise
    But it’s wisdom born of pain
    Yes, I’ve paid the price
    But look how much I gained

    If I have to I can face anything
    I am strong (strong)
    I am invincible (invincible)
    I am woman

    Oh, I am woman
    I am invincible
    I am strong
    I am woman
    I am invincible
    I am strong
    I am woman

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi valsgal1999, Thanks for sharing your lovely comment with memories and the Helen Reddy song, I am Woman. It was indeed a groundbreaking song and inspiration. I think I first heard her sing in on the Dinah Shore show–a ringing endorsement at the time.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  2. April 22 & 27, 2017–Thanks for liking/starring my post #1058! I’m glad that you enjoyed it! Cheers! Grati ;->

    Guylty, discovermarche, & Esther

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

